Cake Fact Or Myth???

Decorating By BakersGuy Updated 26 Jun 2014 , 1:24pm by -K8memphis

BakersGuy Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 4:45pm
post #1 of 14

Hello All

I was just watching a video and heard something that made me reach for clarity from some of the most knowledgeable bakers I know!  Family I need help with this one.

Someone said to me  "Do not grease and/or flour side of cake pans," doing this will cause your cakes to NOT rise properly".

Now I am new at this and have soooo much to learn but has anyone ever heard this before?

13 replies
maisie73 Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 14

ANever heard of that before Bakersguy. I'm an amateur decorator but I've been baking for years. I never flour my tins, only grease and sometimes line with grease proof depending what I'm making. I do grease the sides, no problem with cakes rising. :-)

slun4ogledka Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 4:58pm
post #3 of 14

I have heard it as well . Usually this method is used if you are baking sponge or  genoise cakes ( no leveling ingredients in the batter) . The idea is the batter to grab on the sides of the pan while in the oven. It helps the cake not to shrink after is baked and cooled down . HTH 

leah_s Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 5:03pm
post #4 of 14

^ this.  Do not grease the sides of an angelfood type cake.  Otherwise, yes, grease the sides.

-K8memphis Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 5:39pm
post #5 of 14

i just line the bottom of the pan with parchment for tier cakes, no grease -- and beyond that i grease bundt pans, baking quick breads and pound cakes in loaf pans--

maybenot Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 8:56pm
post #6 of 14

I use cake release on the sides of my pans and parchment on the bottom.  My cakes rise beautifully.

FioreCakes Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 11:11pm
post #7 of 14

Yes this is true, and I have experimented to find the perfect amount of cake release. Too much and the cake won't rise as much.

-K8memphis Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 11:26pm
post #8 of 14