Gluten Free Cake Mixes

Decorating By custard79 Updated 7 Jul 2014 , 5:20pm by customcakesbysa

custard79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
custard79 Posted 21 Jun 2014 , 1:37am
post #1 of 8

AHas anyone tried a gluten free boxed caked mix and doctored it with a box of pudding, and an extra egg have any success? Are the boxed GF mixes even any good? I'm new to GF baking and was asked to make a GF cake and am total lost.

7 replies
Sammy09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sammy09 Posted 21 Jun 2014 , 2:45am
post #2 of 8

ATry Little Black Birds GF choc cake recipe from scratch. She's awesome.

johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 21 Jun 2014 , 2:30pm
post #3 of 8

The betty crocker mix, just as listed on the box, is pretty good as is. I wouldn't mess with it unless you REALLY plan to get "in to it". My niece is GF, so I tried it for her.

Had tried GF baking before, but stocking a pantry with all the strange ingredients is really expensive. 

Cevamal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cevamal Posted 21 Jun 2014 , 4:45pm
post #4 of 8

AIs this for someone with celiac? Be sure to check that the pudding mix is GF too.

customcakesbysa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
customcakesbysa Posted 21 Jun 2014 , 6:53pm
post #5 of 8

You really need to know if your baking for someone who is GF because of health issues (wheat allergy or celiac).  If so, you also have to worry about cross contamination and many other issues - you'll have to run all pans, bowls, & utensils through the dishwasher (even though they're already clean) and wash down your mixer so there's no residual flour / gluten on it.  You'll also have to open new packages of anything that might've been contaminated by flour from previous baking - shortening, etc.  If there's any chance that a bit of flour snuck in there (like flour dust on a utensil) it could make someone with an allergy or celiac very sick.