Pictures Of Simple Cakes For A Beginner?

Decorating By Cevamal Updated 5 Aug 2014 , 3:35am by Bunny0410

Cevamal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cevamal Posted 14 Jun 2014 , 1:44am
post #1 of 24

I stumbled across this forum last week looking for muffin tips and I'm already addicted!

I've been baking since I was a kid but I am not an artistic person and have no interest in decorating other than a bare minimum to make it look decent. I love looking at the amazing things you all have done but I really just want to wade in ankle deep and get to a place where I can make a pretty birthday cake for my kids. Fortunately I have four of them so I'll have plenty of opportunities to practice. ;)

The galleries here are phenomenal but so far everything I've seen is completely out of my league. Do you have any recommendations for pictures of simple beginner cakes to give me some ideas for starting out? 

I realize this is an absurdly remedial question and most people just make a basic cake but you have to believe me when I say not an artistic bone in my body: I really want something to work off of. I'd like to stick to buttercream, not fondant, and smooth, not the star-tipped style.

I started the Wilton class years ago but the timing didn't work out. That was with one kid...there's no way I could do the class now!

23 replies
AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 14 Jun 2014 , 1:52am
post #2 of 24

AJust Google simple buttercream cakes. Or smooth icing. Or how to smooth cakes. Try simple buttercream decorated cake. That should bring up a lot of pictures.

Cevamal Posted 14 Jun 2014 , 2:02am
post #3 of 24

Hm. That was embarrassingly remedial. ;)

Although I have to say: Google and I have different ideas of what makes for "simple".

AZCouture Posted 14 Jun 2014 , 2:11am
post #4 of 24