Ac Temperature?

Business By kellierae Updated 7 Jun 2014 , 12:50am by morganchampagne

kellierae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kellierae Posted 6 Jun 2014 , 4:23am
post #1 of 7

AWhat temperature should I set my AC at in my home when working on a cake? I live in phoenix so it's pretty unreasonable to run it any lower than 78deg. I'm just worried that 78 might be too warm. Does any body have any suggestions? Thanks!

6 replies
SimplySix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SimplySix Posted 6 Jun 2014 , 11:22am
post #2 of 7

I live up by Kansas City but don't do temperatures above about 68 degrees. Period. (I like to keep my A/C between 65-67). In the last month my RI has become so difficult to work with & in all of the 1000+ places that I have searched for answers it is commonly suggested that it is either too humid or not stiff enough (It's not the latter, I assure you!).. I'm relatively new to some of this and have wondered how bad the humidity levels could be in my house that is shut up and has central a/c..  I've switched back to buttercream frostings for now and while they, too, seem to be effected- I find that if I whip out 3-6 roses (as an example) and then set them in the freezer for 15-20 minutes before doing more (I just keep in that rotation) that they keep and are relatively unaffected in handling (place them before letting them melt!). And it's only the stiffer consistencies that seem to have all the trouble. Once they are placed and given a chance to crust they seem to be doing fine. I've read in many places that if you add cornstarch it will help icings hold and help keep colors from running. The same being said of a 50-50 cornstarch/confectioners sugar mix. If I go that route I use cornstarch or cream of tarter. My cakes, unfrosted, keep well in Tupperware but once you've frosted them then it's too much moisture for it to be sealed. And if I intend to have them set out for anymore than 16 hours then I'll use 50% of whatever fat the recipe calls