Fruit Cake Advice

Baking By brideoffrank Updated 2 Jun 2014 , 2:06pm by catsmum

brideoffrank Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brideoffrank Posted 23 May 2014 , 8:28pm
post #1 of 26

I am making my own cake, for my wedding which is in 2 weeks. The top 2 tiers are sponge and I'm sorted as far as they are concerned its just the bottom layer that I'm worried about. My OH wants a fruit cake but I have no experience of making fruit cakes. I have just been searching around for tips etc and am assuming Delias recipe will be my best bet but I'm just concerned about the time scale. As I said I'm getting married in 2 weeks time, I get the impression that it would have been better to make much earlier than now, what difference will this make to the final product? It'll still be ok won't it? I don't really want to dowse in alcohol, so if I make it now (tomorrow say) will it still be good and fresh in 2 weeks time without it?  Any other tips and advice gratefully received :)

Thanks

25 replies
cakebaby2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebaby2 Posted 30 May 2014 , 11:28am
post #2 of 26

It'll be fine but watch the timings Delia gives you and the temp, they have been known to burn. There can be anything up to an hour in difference. Just dribble the alcohol on to keep it moist and wrap it per her instructions. It wont be as "matured" but I've made these as Christmas presents (last minute) and they've always been delicious.

Mary Berry's is good too as is Delia's "Last  Minute Cake" in her Christmas/Winter collection.

Good luck.

(If the cake is 10" or more you might find a tray of hot water on the floor of the oven helps and really watch the timings.)

petitecat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
petitecat Posted 30 May 2014 , 11:32am
post #3 of 26

I've heard of boiled fruit cake- perhaps have a look at those. I got the impression the cake was pretty much ready to eat after baking (someone correct me if I'm wrong).

cazza1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile