I Am Stuck!! Need Help With A Tiered Cake With Pillar Supports..!

Decorating By mandsie Updated 7 May 2014 , 9:10pm by mandsie

mandsie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mandsie Posted 7 May 2014 , 11:44am
post #1 of 4

Hi all, I really hope someone can help me here. 

I'm a self taught cake decorator of about 2 years experience.. I've been asked to do something like this.. and I'm a bit stuck!

The bottom tier is going to be a dummy.. with two tiers of mud on top. Will this make the cake too top heavy??

Also regarding the edges.. I'm not 100% sure how to go about it, but I figure I can use a board the size of the lower tier, and carve the sides from the outer top edge to the board..?

I've also never used the pillar supports, and quite frankly am freaking out a wee bit! The top is going to be fiddly as hell..

Appreciate any help you can offer, thanks!! x

3 replies
Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 7 May 2014 , 12:45pm
post #2 of 4

That shouldn't really be too hard to do.  Are you talking about using a plate and pillar system?  If so, you will need to choose plates slightly smaller than the cake above so that the pillars will have enough space in the cake below that they can be pushed in without breaking the sides of the cake.  You can then place the next cake on whatever side board you need to support it then set it on top of the plate below.  You will have to likely cut the pillars off to get the space between the tiers as shown, but over all this should be pretty easy and would be sturdy.