Square Cake Questions

Decorating By teresadutton Updated 12 May 2014 , 4:04pm by cakebaby2

teresadutton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
teresadutton Posted 4 May 2014 , 12:46am
post #1 of 46

I am a newbie and I am going to be making a square 2 tier (10" and 8") cake soon. Do you dowel these just like you would a round? Do you double layer just like you would a round? Any secrets I need to know about the corners?

THANK SO MUCH!!

45 replies
enga Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
enga Posted 4 May 2014 , 1:36am
post #2 of 46

I dowel two tiered cakes just to be safe. Yes you do. For your corners It depends what you will be covering your cake with. If you want them razor sharp 8O these two ladies have got your ticket!

Sharp edges for a crusting BC

HTH

PS, the secret to icing square cakes is to really build up your edges with icing, don't worry about using to much because you will be taking off the excess.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 4 May 2014 , 1:43am
post #3 of 46

..............dowel these just like you would a round? Do you double layer just like you would a round?.................

Any and all shaped cakes are treated the same when tier-ing.  In other words, yes you double the layers IF you need that many servings.  And yes, you dowel.  For those sizes all you need are 4 dowels - one in each corner 2" in from the edge of the smaller size.  In this case you are putting an 8" on so you would mark the cake with a 6" square pan inserting the dowels at each corner.  "Dowels could easily be plastic drink straws - don't even need bubble ones since there is not much weight to an 8"er.

teresadutton Posted 4 May 2014 , 2:03am
post #4 of 46

THANK YOU BOTH!!

teresadutton Posted 4 May 2014 , 2:09am
post #5 of 46

Ok so you don't HAVE to double layer?? Wouldn't that make the cake look pretty short? She wants a 2 tier but it only needs to feed about 20 - 25 people...what would you do?

enga Posted 4 May 2014 , 2:25am