Frequently Asked "how Much Would You Charge For This??"

Decorating By sunshine1531 Updated 7 May 2014 , 7:34pm by sunshine1531

sunshine1531 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sunshine1531 Posted 3 May 2014 , 3:40pm
post #1 of 10

I am still very new to this, but lately every customer has been showing me a picture and asking "How much would you charge for this cake?"  Maybe it's just me because I don't really know what I am doing yet as far as pricing goes but I have found this question to be very frustrating!! Do any of the seasoned cake decorators out there who sell their cakes find this annoying too, or is it just me??  I just feel like I can give them a round-a-bout estimate, but I am not totally sure on a price before I do a cake because I do not yet know how much all of the ingredients will cost me, nor do I know the amount of time and skill it will take to complete it either. I'm sure I feel this way because I haven't been doing this very long. I have read that many of you require a deposit and then final payment 2 weeks before cake delivery which must mean you know what the cake will cost before you spend the time making it.

I have read many of the forums on here about pricing cakes to try to learn. Should I be asking them "what is YOUR price range"?

Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks soo much!! :-)

9 replies
MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 3 May 2014 , 4:49pm
post #2 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunshine1531 

I am still very new to this, but lately every customer has been showing me a picture and asking "How much would you charge for this cake?"  Maybe it's just me because I don't really know what I am doing yet as far as pricing goes but I have found this question to be very frustrating!! Do any of the seasoned cake decorators out there who sell their cakes find this annoying too, or is it just me??