Client Not As Thrilled About The Flavor As You Had Hoped?

Business By RMBCakes Updated 29 Apr 2014 , 11:42pm by costumeczar

RMBCakes Posted 29 Apr 2014 , 3:46am
post #1 of 7

AI had a client (I'm a newbie on my 6th cake) who loved how it turned out. Since I know her from Facebook I asked how it tasted. Now, I honestly expected her to say amazing because I had about 12 people try it and, being a cake aficionado, I really felt it was one of the best I've ever had. It was lemon with lemon curd and lemon buttercream. I'm a new baker so when she said her husband didn't like it as much as she did (he likes tart lemon and she didn't tell me that), I got discouraged. Is this a normal thing?

6 replies
bubs1stbirthday Posted 29 Apr 2014 , 3:58am
post #2 of 7

Of course it is normal - peoples tastes are all incredibly different, if you love the taste and are proud to stand by it then I wouldn't worry too much. We used to sell a lemon tart at the café where I worked (house made of course :-) ) and it was sweet instead of tart and while most people loved it you would certainly get others that would say they preferred more of a tart note to their lemon desserts.

Pastrybaglady Posted 29 Apr 2014 , 6:43am
post #3 of 7

AI think it's very normal. The range of lemon is very wide from just the essence or scent of lemon to mouth puckering, gland twitching tartness. My preference leans towards the latter but it makes my husband wince.

RMBCakes Posted 29 Apr 2014 , 6:50am
post #4 of 7

AYou all are making me feel so much better. I want my cakes to look and taste amazing. I guess I should be happy that at least 12 people tried my test batch and thought it was out of this world. So, it's just one person. Sure would have been nice if they had told me they like tart. But I also didn't ask which is my fault. I will be working on a new recipe to add to my offerings...a super, duper, crazy tart lemon.

TheSugarLab Posted 29 Apr 2014 , 9:50pm
post #5 of 7