What Did I Do Wrong??? Please Help :)

Decorating By CakeAffair22 Updated 30 Apr 2014 , 10:20pm by CakeAffair22

CakeAffair22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeAffair22 Posted 28 Apr 2014 , 6:27am
post #1 of 11

AOkay so I was making a baby shower cake for my friend this weekend. I baked the cake, let it cool, leveled and crumb coated it, put it in the freezer to get kinda cold so it could set up, rolled out my fondant, then took the cake out and put a thin layer of icing on and covered it in fondant then let it sit on the counter as I prepared the decorations. It got extremely wet all over and buy the next day it was dry but the fondant had a few rips in it. Now what did I do wrong. I've heard people say they froze cakes with no problems and covered them too. But my cake wasn't even froze just a little cold. Please help me not make this mistake again. :) and please don't be cruel because I am new to cake central and cake decorating. Thank you!

10 replies
cupcakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemaker Posted 28 Apr 2014 , 6:48am
post #2 of 11

ABecause the cake was cold that made the fondant sweat. You either have to be very quick or bring them up to room temp :)

howsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
howsweet Posted 28 Apr 2014 , 6:55am
post #3 of 11

AI don't know what happened, but be careful about when people say they always do this or that with no issues. Some things are effected by humidity, type of frig and air temperature of the room.

CakeAffair22 Posted 28 Apr 2014 , 7:04am
post #4 of 11

AThank you both for your answers! [@]cupcakemaker[/@] what do you mean by be very quick?

cupcakemaker Posted 28 Apr 2014 , 7:14am
post #5 of 11

AJust that. Get your fondant on before it starts sweating!

CakeAffair22 Posted 28 Apr 2014 , 7:58am
post #6 of 11

AThe icing layer wasn't sweating at all when I put the fondant on. It was after the fondant was on that the fondant began to sweat.

cupcakemaker Posted 28 Apr 2014 , 8:06am