Flavor Ideas

Decorating By titalali Updated 22 Apr 2014 , 9:23pm by titalali

titalali Posted 22 Apr 2014 , 4:55pm
post #1 of 9

AA friend of mine asked me to make an Anniversary cake for his parents. It's going to be a 4 tired cake with champagne glasses supporting each tier!!! Omg!! Anyways I have some flavor ideas in mind fir each tier and was wondering what you all thought. One tier will be white chocolate with white chocolate buttercream. Another tier will be he white vanilla almond cake with raspberry filling. Next one is a chocolate cake with a chocolate filling I heard you can get at walmart in the Spanish section. (Hmmm?) and the last is done kind if amaretto flavored cake. Not sure how to go that one. How do they sound. I'm not a professional so I'm not always sure on putting flavors together. Especially for an occasion like this. I'm sooooooo nervous about doing this. I'm really worried about taste and moisture. I'd greatly appreciate and ideas or advice.

8 replies
BeesKnees578 Posted 22 Apr 2014 , 5:09pm
post #2 of 9

Amaretto is almond (and/or apricot) based, or so I just read.  I thought just almond, so the apricot is news to me!

It would go with many flavors, I would think....

Do you want a repeat of almond since you are doing the vanilla almond cake?  Granted, amaretto is more grown up.

Cherry, peach...I would think just about anything that went well with almonds would go well with amaretto.  Think about what is in cocktails that have amaretto, or what desserts you like that come with almond.  Use the fruit component of those things as the filling.

Good Luck!

BeesKnees578 Posted 22 Apr 2014 , 5:21pm
post #3 of 9

You said you are not a professional, so my apologies if this is telling you something you have already considered!