Can It Be Saved?!?!!

Decorating By mtill77 Updated 25 Apr 2014 , 7:23pm by mtill77

mtill77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mtill77 Posted 8 Apr 2014 , 10:56pm
post #1 of 8

I'm new to cake decorating, learning from magazines, blogs, etc. Mainly trial and error!!! I have no problem baking, levelling, filling, or even putting the finishing touches to a cake, but covering the cake is killing me!!! lol.

I use Renshaws ready to roll sugarpaste. I knead until it's pliable, roll on a worktop smeared with Trex, with a non-stick rolling pin and I use spacers so it's not too thin. My kitchen gets quite warm in the afternoon, so I do it either in the morning, or evening. But no matter how hard I try, I always end up with rips, holes or cracks.  

Am I doing something wrong?  Is there anyway of repairing the sugarpaste without having to cover the mistakes with decorations?

7 replies
natt12321 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
natt12321 Posted 8 Apr 2014 , 11:48pm
post #2 of 8

Maybe try other brands of sugarpaste? I personally cannot stand renshaws, I find it way too soft to use!

rebecca67e Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rebecca67e Posted 9 Apr 2014 , 2:08am
post #3 of 8

^^agree. I don't like Renshaws for covering. I just buy it in lots of different colours to use for covering boards and making models.

Mel37 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mel37 Posted 9 Apr 2014 , 10:28am
post #4 of 8

AHi MTill!

I seem to be in the minority, and use Renshaws all the time with little issue :) One thing that jumps out is that you say you roll onto Trex? That may not be helping, as that might be causing the sugarpaste to get sticky underneath?

I do use Trex, but only when I'm kneading the icing to warm it up, I put a little on my hands and also on the worktop.