What's The Best Book Out There?

Decorating By emarcomd Updated 8 Apr 2014 , 8:09pm by emarcomd

emarcomd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emarcomd Posted 5 Apr 2014 , 11:20pm
post #1 of 7

Sorry if there's another thread on this, but I couldn't locate one.

There are great vids on youtube, but sometimes I just like a book.

I'm a beginner/amateur.   I've done cakes I'm proud of, but I also attempted a Topsy Turvy cake that I *literally* wound up having to use a serving spoon to serve.   It was about as much a topsy turvy cake as my dog is a computer programmer.  I told everyone it was a "cake salad."

I decided I like the decorating part better than the baking part.  But I also like trying the surprise-inside cakes, and recently made a "Peanut Butter & Fritos Cake with Chocolate Ganache and Cheetos Stencil"  (fun fact:  Cheetos are almost the same pantone color that Hermes uses!)

Basically, I can pull off some decent-looking cakes if I have a little luck ion my side, but I suffer from a strong knowledge of the fundamentals.

Okay, now that I've told you all that, what has been the most helpful book you've read?

Thanks!

6 replies
cakeymom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeymom Posted 5 Apr 2014 , 11:38pm
post #2 of 7

AWhen I was looking for knowledge in areas of baking and decorating I checked out my local library. They have a wealth of information and depending on your library's budget they will even order books. Mine did.

cakeymom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeymom Posted 8 Apr 2014 , 2:21am
post #3 of 7

AYou also may want to try Craftsy.

enga Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
enga Posted 8 Apr 2014 , 4:02am
post #4 of 7