Hobby Baker

Decorating By shorey69 Updated 2 Apr 2014 , 2:44pm by howsweet

shorey69 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shorey69 Posted 2 Apr 2014 , 11:57am
post #1 of 8

hi everyone im currently a hobby baker who will be going into a business in a few months to a year so atm im going to charge just for ingredients how would i do this?  im not sure at all how to charge just for ingredients please help!   i can only charge for the edible things as i do not have a business yet so nothing like cake board, boxes ect this is just for family and friends untill i have a business of my own! 

7 replies
shorey69 Posted 2 Apr 2014 , 12:15pm
post #2 of 8

and would you have to charge for edible cake toppers? 

Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 2 Apr 2014 , 12:27pm
post #3 of 8

AYou don't 'have' to do anything.... I would just bake for free for now to practice, your friends and family will be very grateful.

Use the free cakes as practically as possible, try something challenging, google/youtube how to do it, record carefully how long it took you and how much it cost including how much a cake board and box would be... all this will help you when you start to think more about making it a business in the future.

shorey69 Posted 2 Apr 2014 , 12:33pm
post #4 of 8

No... ive been doing it a year and half for free for my family and friends and its expensive.  so now im going to have to charge just for the ingredients  as its a expensive hobby untill i have a cake business.  so no i wont be doing it for free anymore 

Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 2 Apr 2014 , 12:44pm
post #5 of 8

AIf you're asking for money, even cost, you are a business and you need to be legal, maybe you already are but just in case: you need to speak to your local health dept (env health in the UK) and register for taxes.