Hi, New Here Need Bit Of Help Please

Baking By jessiecakes1983 Updated 26 Mar 2014 , 7:16pm by jessiecakes1983

jessiecakes1983 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessiecakes1983 Posted 26 Mar 2014 , 12:08pm
post #1 of 6

Hi guys,

I'm new on here and i'm currently studying my Cake Decoration Level 1 at Tameside College on a Thursday evening and was wanting to set up my own cake decorating business only starting out small as i also work full time and do different shifts.

I absolutely love my Cake Decorating and everyone always compliments me when i make/bake/decorate a cake and love everyone's reactions like my friends and family but just wanted to start making some money for my skills which i've learned over the last couple of years.

what would be the best way to start off as i'm thinking of my company name which was going to be JessieCakes but i think someone's already got this name?

I would love to charge the right amount as we all know it's so time consuming but just wanted abit of advice really in how i'd start to set it up? I'm looking to get some business cards soon but not sure how to advertise? also with friends and family do people generally do it at cost price or charge more cos of all the work involved?

i've got friends who want me to make cakes for their son's/relatives birthdays but not come to a price yet cos i really don't want to over-charge or under-charge and then make a loss of time/money.

please would anyone be able to help me with this?

Thanks,

Jess

x

5 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 26 Mar 2014 , 2:56pm
post #2 of 6

There are tons of threads on here that answer you questions.  The first step to getting into this business is to be sure and do it legally.  Where are you located?

jessiecakes1983 Posted 26 Mar 2014 , 3:34pm
post #3 of 6

Hi Leah,

Thanks for repyling to my thread. Ok, thanks and i'm based in Hyde, Chesire.