Hello, I'm New To Cake Decorating

Decorating By samuel-findlay Updated 9 Mar 2014 , 4:35am by remnant3333

samuel-findlay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
samuel-findlay Posted 7 Mar 2014 , 12:09pm
post #1 of 10

i've recently started cake decorating, and have been told that i am really good for a beginner.  i'm 16 and live in the UK.

this is my third cake i've ever decorated, so would love to have some advice on different things :)

9 replies
maisie73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maisie73 Posted 7 Mar 2014 , 12:24pm
post #2 of 10

AWow! 16 and only your third cake! Looks pretty good to me. I've been baking for years but quite new to decorating (less than a year). Ionly finished my 2nd ever two tier cake yesterday. The only advice I can give you is keep practising, watch videos and practise some more. I've come a long way in a year and my first attempts were nowhere near as good as yours! Other people who've been doing this longer will give you advice on specifics, I just wanted to give you encouragement. :-)

catsmum Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catsmum Posted 7 Mar 2014 , 12:27pm
post #3 of 10

Quote:

Originally Posted by samuel-findlay 

i've recently started cake decorating, and have been told that i am really good for a beginner.  i'm 16 and live in the UK.

this is my third cake i've ever decorated, so would love to have some advice on different things :)

Hi from another UK resident. Welcome to CC. You will find loads of advice here and great ideas to aspire to....and probably end up a CC addict too!!;-) Use the search function to see if answers have already been posted to your queries.

If that is an example of your 3rd cake you are doing really well. I like the imaginative use of colour. Well done.

I always think that if you cover your cake board with fondant and edge the board with ribbon to tie in with the theme of your design it really finishes the cake off.

hbquikcomjamesl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile