Attention Queensland Bakers!!

Decorating By sweetcheekss Updated 28 Feb 2014 , 1:35pm by Daisyblue002

sweetcheekss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcheekss Posted 28 Feb 2014 , 4:20am
post #1 of 5

Hi,

I've been making and decorating cakes from home for a while now and some of my friends and family have asked me to make cakes for them.

They are paying me to make these cakes, but only recently have I started to charge people for them.

I want to start my own cake decorating business in the future but for now I'm only doing a cake a month roughly (maybe less).

I want to start a facebook page or website to promote my cakes to get started on my business, I just want to know if I have to get any licences, approvals or register my business name and get an ABN at the moment. I want to register my name but I need to get an ABN for it... Like I don't want to do it full time at the moment (I'm studying so it'll just be the odd cake here and there) but I'll be charging them for my cakes.

I'm a little confused as how to go about it all, and will take any help I can get.

Thanks in advance :)

4 replies
Shazza65 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shazza65 Posted 28 Feb 2014 , 5:11am
post #2 of 5

Check out the ATO website. Just google ' Is it a business or a hobby ' Plenty of info there for you.

Good luck :)

Daisyblue002 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Daisyblue002 Posted 28 Feb 2014 , 5:37am
post #3 of 5