Melted Chocolate Added To Plastic Icing (Fondant)?

Decorating By nosh Updated 28 Feb 2014 , 2:26pm by nosh

nosh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nosh Posted 27 Feb 2014 , 3:51pm
post #1 of 8

APlease advice whether I can add melted chocolate to plastic icing? i don`t like the taste of p/icing and I don`t think South African brides do either. I am not new to baking but I am new to working with chocolate and modelling chocolate. Looking forward to your responses.

7 replies
Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 27 Feb 2014 , 4:37pm
post #2 of 8
nosh Posted 27 Feb 2014 , 7:20pm
post #3 of 8

AWow thanks so much. Feeling more confident...I would just like to be 100% about one thing though - will it work with store bought fondant or must it be a home made fondant and if okay, how much chocolate do I use. the ready made fondant come in quantities of 1kg packs and I will be needing to use at least 2 packs. the fondant will remain white which means I will be using white chocolate. Any idea on the quantity of chocolate. Its ok to let me have the pounds/oz measurements because I usually just convert it into South African terms lol (if that makes sense). thanks a mil!!!!!!!

MBalaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBalaska Posted 28 Feb 2014 , 12:57am
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosh 

Please advice whether I can add melted chocolate to plastic icing? i don`t like the taste of p/icing and I don`t think South African brides do either. I am not new to baking but I am new to working with chocolate and modelling chocolate. Looking forward to your responses.

http://cakecentral.com/newsearch?search=modeling+chocolate+and+fondant&=Search

tons of threads on this.

DeniseNH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeniseNH Posted 28 Feb 2014 , 3:12am
post #5 of 8

I do it all the time, but I use wedding white or ultra white chocolate and it improves the texture but not the taste.  For a better taste, use flavored oils (clear extracts).