Help I'm Having Shiny/sticky/cracky Fondant Problems : (

Decorating By wrightc2309 Updated 27 Feb 2014 , 7:31pm by wrightc2309

wrightc2309 Posted 24 Feb 2014 , 6:22pm
post #1 of 14

Hi I'm new with making fondant and recently tried two recipes- Michelle Fosters and one from the food network. After leaving them both overnight I opened them up and had essentially the same problems with both batches:

- fondant was too sticky to use so I tried kneading in some sifted powdered sugar, causing the fondant to...

- become "cracky" in my hand and when I kneaded (see bottom pic below) .. it wouldn't stay attached to itself in one piece when I kneaded but top would rather crack away from the bottom when I folded it over to knead. This made me think it was too dry but...

-it was still sticky and sort of crusting to my hands, so I...

- rolled some out and it worked, however its still very shiny (see top pic below) and sticky, like if I lightly put my finger on it leaves a print and you can see in the pic it shows every little nook, crannie, ridge, smudge, etc.

I've read a lot of posts about "saving" fondant but Im stumped here. If i add powdered sugar it seems to dry it out a lot, but its still so shiny as though it needs more. Has anyone ever had this problem or have any suggestions for a fix?

Thanks

13 replies
ellavanilla Posted 24 Feb 2014 , 9:59pm
post #2 of 14

instead of adding powdered sugar, try adding shortening. i know it sounds counter intuitive, but the shortening won't dry out your fondant, like the sugar will. 

wrightc2309 Posted 25 Feb 2014 , 4:27pm
post #3 of 14

Thanks @ellavanilla , but we dont have shortening like crisco where I live. 

Anybody have any other non-shortening suggestions?

anaelisabethlee Posted 25 Feb 2014 , 4:42pm
post #4 of 14

Where are you based? If it's in the UK try Trex :)

wrightc2309 Posted 25 Feb 2014 , 4:53pm
post #5 of 14