Pricing A Fondant Cake

Business By AddieCakes Updated 3 Mar 2014 , 3:58pm by TheItalianBaker

AddieCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AddieCakes Posted 22 Feb 2014 , 6:30am
post #1 of 25

AHi everyone, I'm having some trouble deciding on how I want to price a cake. I recently started sharing photos of what I bake on my facebook and suddenly I have people ordering cakes from me for holidays, birthdays, baby showers etc. My mom passed away a year ago and it was then that i began baking often..it has been my way to coupe with my loss. I never knew I loved it this much til now. Anyway, all my cakes are homemade from scratch and decorated with fondant..also homemade. How much should I charge for a two tier fondant cake for 60 ppl? Taking into consideration that I am a beginner.Here is a photo of what is being requested.[IMG]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3190235/width/200/height/400[/IMG]

24 replies
Godot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Godot Posted 22 Feb 2014 , 7:46am
post #2 of 25

AIf you don't have permission from Disney to make this cake then you, legally, cannot sell it.

You need to get (among other things) a solid pricing structure in place before you go into business.

How much were you thinking of selling a similar cake for?

AddieCakes Posted 22 Feb 2014 , 8:14am
post #3 of 25

AOh yes I am aware that I can not llegally sell it without permission. The colors of the cake and the structure is what is being requested. I was thinking of selling it for $75. Too cheap or too much?

Godot Posted 22 Feb 2014 , 2:02pm
post #4 of 25

A.........mmmm.

You really do need to do your OWN homework and learn how to do your costing out properly.

How can I tell you what to charge? Please - I don't know your costs! You might be using crap ingredients like mixes and Criscocream icing.

My skills are in a different category than yours, so that also needs to be taken into consideration.

Crystal72384 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile