Hobby Baker?

Business By Suzie162330 Updated 27 Feb 2014 , 9:36am by cakebaby2

Suzie162330 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Suzie162330 Posted 18 Feb 2014 , 1:03pm
post #1 of 14

AHi, I like so many others stumbled into making cupcakes for friends and family. I'd like to make more for other people. I don't see it as a business as such because i have a day job. I need some advice though. What is the definition of a hobby baker? I know I need to register my kitchen with the council, inland revenue and complete my food safety course which I'm doing after pay day ;)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I'm self taught and just looking to continue my hobby, make people happy with my cupcakes and make a bit of money to pay for my supplies etc

Thanks Suzie x

13 replies
AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 18 Feb 2014 , 1:41pm
post #2 of 14

AMost people consider a hobby something they do to satisfy their own creative urges, not accepting payment for what they do, because it's something they do in their spare time for fun. If you're selling, most of us consider that swimming in our pool. So....whether you want that kind of opinion or the legal kind of opinion with the regulations and whatnot, I don't know those answers. Because I think accepting payment negates the very definition of hobby.

MimiFix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MimiFix Posted 18 Feb 2014 , 2:31pm
post #3 of 14

I would like to add: The baked goods market (cakes, cupcakes, cookies, etc) has been flooded the past few years with both "hobby" bakers and folks setting up home-based businesses (legal or otherwise). For the most part, these dabblers have set prices so low that consumers expect to pay very little. This hurts the people with legal/established businesses who (up until now) have earned a living by baking/selling. Adding insult to injury, most of these new dabblers have full time jobs and therefore a source of income.