Beginning Cake Decorator

Decorating By bakeforfun21 Updated 14 Feb 2014 , 10:10am by howboutbake

bakeforfun21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakeforfun21 Posted 12 Feb 2014 , 3:29pm
post #1 of 18

Hello, everyone!! I'm just getting into cake decorating. Could someone tell me the basic essential tools I need to get. I have my turntable and icing smoother. That is it. No bags, or tips or anything. What else do I need to buy?

17 replies
BeesKnees578 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeesKnees578 Posted 12 Feb 2014 , 3:33pm
post #2 of 18

Hello!  And welcome!

You can get those starter kits at your local craft store, which should include all the basic essentials.

You may want to google "cake decorating beginners essentials" or something like that....I have been doing it too long and can't remember what I started with.

Good luck!

sugarflorist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarflorist Posted 12 Feb 2014 , 3:50pm
post #3 of 18

the  type of equipment depends on what type of decorating you want to do.

A decent rolling pin is a must i have a 24 inch. An offset pallet knife is essential for me too and i don't know what i would do without "the mat" for coping with big pieces of covering paste.

my equipment includes loads of petal and leaf cutters and veiners as i specialize in sugar flowers and pastillage.

buying equipment seems never ending because the more you do the more you want to do and keeping up with trends brings must have tools too.

bakeforfun21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakeforfun21 Posted 12 Feb 2014 , 3:51pm
post #4 of 18

Thank you. I will do that. If you can offer any other tips please do. I am open to any help I can get. I don't want to become a professional. I just want to have fun but I want it to look professional.

sugarflorist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarflorist Posted 12 Feb 2014 , 4:08pm
post #5 of 18

Quote:

Originally Posted by bakeforfun21