Crying....

Decorating By melroe1125 Updated 17 Feb 2014 , 5:11am by howboutbake

melroe1125 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melroe1125 Posted 7 Feb 2014 , 7:59pm
post #1 of 32

ASo, I have only been on my own for about two months and so far, have loved every minute of it. Last week I took an order for a Minecraft themed cake and a Zebra striped with a blue bow. The customer sent me pictures of the birthday invitation to match the blue. I have never seen Minecraft so I looked up some ideas and then ultimately, she sent me a picture to copy. I spent all morning creating the accent pieces and building the cakes. But when she came to pick them up, she hated them. She told me they looked nothing like what she wanted and she could have done a better job herself. I now have two giant cakes and a lump in my throat. I think perhaps I should give up on this. I love baking but perhaps I am not very good at decorating. Maybe I am delusional about my cakes but I thought they were cute. Are they really terrible? Please be honest because I need to figure out if I am continuing on this path.[IMG][IMG]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3182067/width/200/height/400[/IMG][/IMG]

31 replies
matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 7 Feb 2014 , 8:16pm
post #3 of 32

They're cute.  You have a lot of promise.   But....they're not what I would have expected for sale.

Honestly,  the Minecraft one is not up to par for what is out there. 

Here for honest critique?

You are almost there on the basics.  Frosting could be smoother.  Fondant work on the zebra cake could be neater. The cake should be level with straight sides.  The bow should be neater.  the piping on the bottom should not have points on each ball.  Fix it or learn another border technique.  The medallion is pretty.  All cakeboards should be finished with cake foil or fondant.