My Latest Work...am I Charging Too Much?

Decorating By Rossana67 Updated 6 Feb 2014 , 3:52pm by paulstonia

Rossana67 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rossana67 Posted 6 Feb 2014 , 4:28am
post #1 of 6

~~This is my latest cake work but I did it over styrofoam cause I am still just practicing. This lady I know wants me to make the same cake, same size, same everything for her sister's wedding. The cake sizes are 10", 8" and 6" and she wants a mix of white cake and chocolate cake. I am thinking of charging $600. Do you think I'm charging too much for this cake?

5 replies
Karlay Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karlay Cakes Posted 6 Feb 2014 , 5:17am
post #2 of 6

AVery pretty, if that's what the bride likes, your ahead if the game. The only thing to work in is the finer details. Your tiara looks a bit unfinished to me. Details and coloring is kinda muted. The price is about right for the time and materials needed for this cake. I'm a home baker, so I've only made two wedding cakes, not as detailed as your. And my brides paid $ 200 for theirs and it was a gift cake I charge cost plus my time. And my second was a budget wedding cake for $180. Again simple design and few man hours. My next cake is 4 tiers and priced at $300-650 depends if bride wants marzipan or fondant plus magnolia flowers. Here's my most recent cake for birthday. 6 inch 3 tier cake orange pastry cream, white chocolate ganache, mmf. If I sold this what do yo think? Between $75 and $90 is what I came up with. [IMG]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3181060/width/200/height/400[/IMG]

Rossana67 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rossana67 Posted 6 Feb 2014 , 5:54am
post #3 of 6