First Time Making A Two Tier Cake...suggestions?

Decorating By enjoyhomemade Updated 5 Feb 2014 , 11:00pm by Crazy-Gray

enjoyhomemade Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
enjoyhomemade Posted 5 Feb 2014 , 10:40am
post #1 of 6

Hello there!

I have been asked by a friend to make her parent´s gold wedding aniverssary cake. I was thinking of doing  for the first tier a vanilla cake filled with lemon curd. the second tier a red velvet cake with the traditional vanilla frosting (the cooked one). I am not very keen on buttercream so I thought I could crumb coat the cake with a whipped white ganache, as it holds better and then cover both tiers with the vanilla cooked frosting. Any suggestions?? It is my first time doing a big cake and I don´t want to dissapoint her or her family.

Many thanks for your input!

5 replies
Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 5 Feb 2014 , 10:55am
post #2 of 6

ASounds lovely! maybe add a few white modelling chocolate/candy clay roses on top, you could spray them gold with a lustre spray and balance out the gold roses with simple gold bosoms at the base of each tier :-)

For your vanilla cake you could marble some whipped ganache with your lemon curd... yum!

enjoyhomemade Posted 5 Feb 2014 , 11:06am
post #3 of 6

Thank you Crazy-Gray! I´m not very good at modelling so I was thinking of covering the base with white hearts and a few golden ones (fondant). for the top tier I´m decorating with frosting roses (inspired by I am baker) and a 50 cake topper in gold too. I will marble some ganache onto the lemon curd, as you advised...thank you so much!

Also, regarding portions...do you think that a 9in and 6in(two layer both) will be enough for 25-30 people?

Crazy-Gray Posted 5 Feb 2014 , 11:50am
post #4 of 6