Mixer Reviews

Decorating By jramjam Updated 23 Jan 2014 , 5:17pm by jramjam

jramjam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jramjam Posted 20 Jan 2014 , 9:46pm
post #1 of 12

Hi!  Can you talented folks give me your thoughts on Kitchenaid stand mixers?  I'm shopping for one and I'm choosing between the Artisan tilt head, and the Pro Bowl lift.  What's the best choice?  I'm only a newbie hobbyist...

11 replies
ChiCakeLady75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChiCakeLady75 Posted 21 Jan 2014 , 6:01pm
post #2 of 12

I've been doing cakes for about 5 years now. I have 3 of the kitchenaid stand mixers: the Artisan 5 quart tilt-head, the 6 quart pro bowl lift, and the 7 quart pro bowl lift. All 3 of them get the job done but I always pick the tilt-head over the bowl lift. I just feel like they're more convenient to use!

jramjam Posted 21 Jan 2014 , 6:09pm
post #3 of 12

Oh my gosh!  Thank you for your speedy reply!  I have read that about the tilt head.  I think that's the direction I'm going to go.  Thanks again!

IAmPamCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IAmPamCakes Posted 21 Jan 2014 , 7:01pm
post #4 of 12

AAs a hobbyist, you might do just fine with the 5qt tilt head. But keep in mind bowl capacity. It's a bit harder to double a batch of cake or icing in a 5qt, than a 6. I work with both tilt and bowl lift at work, and you get used to either one.

jramjam Posted 21 Jan 2014 , 7:20pm
post #5 of 12

Thank you!  Gosh, I didn't even think about doubling recipes.  Do you find that the 1 qt difference really helps when you double?  

ChiCakeLady75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChiCakeLady75 Posted 21 Jan 2014 , 7:58pm
post #6 of 12

I double my cake recipes and frostings all the time in the 5qt without a problem. I actually am even able to triple my cake mix recipe in the 5qt! 

MBalaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBalaska Posted 21 Jan 2014 , 8:02pm
post #7 of 12

Quote:

Originally Posted by jramjam