What To Charge

Business By jenjen14 Updated 19 Jan 2014 , 3:30am by MommyMommy

jenjen14 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenjen14 Posted 18 Jan 2014 , 8:42am
post #1 of 18

AHi all, I am new to cake decorating and just make cakes at home for friends and family. I recently made this cake for a friend and out of curiosity I am wondering what people would charge for this cake? The flowers were hand made also. [IMG]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3169434/width/200/height/400[/IMG]

Cheers :)

17 replies
jenjen14 Posted 18 Jan 2014 , 9:02am
post #2 of 18

AP.S be easy on me, first time making flowers and the third time using fondant.

OMGOMG Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OMGOMG Posted 18 Jan 2014 , 9:34am
post #3 of 18

Quote:

Originally Posted by jenjen14 

Hi all,
I am new to cake decorating and just make cakes at home for friends and family. I recently made this cake for a friend and out of curiosity I am wondering what people would charge for this cake? The flowers were hand made also.

Cheers icon_smile.gif

That is really good! I bet there are people who would pay $5-$6 a serving for that cake.

Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 18 Jan 2014 , 9:48am
post #4 of 18

AIt's very clean, very good!

Your piping needs work, cover a cookie sheet with parchment or Saran wrap and practice your writing-or even print out a template and cover so your letters are closer in size.

I would use a fondant plaque, banner, or tappits until you get better at piping. I mean no disrespect! It just draws my attention away from your lovely cake.

Also, a light box (or a backdrop) will really show off your cake. Anyway, it's good you have natural talent.

You need to let us know the tier sizes if you want a general idea of what others would charge.

Here are a couple other sites that you might find helpful:

http://www.acaketorememberva.blogspot.com/

http://www.earlenescakes.com/Index2.html

Cupadeecakes.blogspot.com