What Should I Charge For My Home Made Cakes?

Business By CakesByEddie Updated 19 Jan 2014 , 7:10am by CakesByEddie

CakesByEddie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesByEddie Posted 18 Jan 2014 , 7:22am
post #1 of 12

I am new to this site and I make cakes as a hobby.  I could use some help with pricing for my cakes please.  Thank you for your time and help.

Short story 

Can you look at my home made cakes and help me figure out what I should charge for my cakes because I am getting a lot of people asking to buy cakes from me and I'm selling my first cake in a few days. Everyone that asks me to make them a cake are told that 1. I'm not a pro, 2. you can show me a picture to give me an idea what you would like, and 3. It will not look exactly like the picture but be in similar design/style. Thank you all.

Link to my cakes 

http://s826.photobucket.com/user/ejhernandez381/library/My%20cakes 

Long story 

I bake cakes as a hobby and everyone loves my cakes. Every party I make a cake for I have at least 3 people asking me if I could make them one and how much I would charge. The problem is I don't know what to charge for my cakes. The local bakery charges $50 for a half sheet cake. I make sheet cakes and layered cakes and tiered cakes and all my cakes have home made butter cream frosting or home made butter cream mixed with cream cheese frosting. 

I am making a two tier cake with a double layered 12in bottom layer and a triple layer 10in top layer and so far the person is paying for the supplies needed to make the cake i.e. cake mix, eggs, powdered sugar etc... It is a baby shower cake and so far everything has come to around $35 to $40. It is a given that I will get that much because I had to get what I needed for the cake and it was easier for they buyer to have me get exactly what was needed instead of them guessing what I needed.