Using Foam Core For The First Time

Decorating By Gerle Updated 17 Jan 2014 , 5:12am by Gerle

Gerle Posted 16 Jan 2014 , 8:28pm
post #1 of 8

I'm making my first two tier cake and am using foam core under both tiers.  I've never used foam core for anything before and have a few questions.  I'm assuming the foam core needs to be covered, but do you cover it with the same aluminium-type paper you can get at cake supply stores (I also get clear plastic that goes over the aluminum), or is it covered with something else?  I appreciate any help any of you can give me.

7 replies
Smckinney07 Posted 16 Jan 2014 , 8:52pm
post #2 of 8

AI've seen people use foamcore plain, thats what i used to do but I'm not sure it's really food safe though (I use the grease proof corrugated boards now).

I've also seen people wrap them in plastic or fancy foil (not regular foil), and some will place a round of wax/parchment paper on top to create a barrier of sorts between the cake & board.

I can't tell you what's 'right', id rather use parchment or even plastic then foil but that's just me-I'd worry about a piece coming off (however unlikely).

As long as its clean, food safe & won't absorb much you should be fine. Hopefully, someone with more insight will chime in.

Gerle Posted 16 Jan 2014 , 8:53pm
post #3 of 8