2 Hours To Make A Smbc?? Help!!

Decorating By musicmommy1 Updated 25 Feb 2014 , 5:52pm by musicmommy1

musicmommy1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
musicmommy1 Posted 14 Jan 2014 , 3:38am
post #1 of 25

Let me first start off by saying "Hi". I have been a member here for quite some time and am a CC addict. I have followed many of you regulars for a long time, studied your cakes endlessly, and learned oh so much! I have never posted a question before, as I have always found my answers by doing a quick search. BUT now I need a bit of help.

I am a hobby baker, mostly just making birthday cakes for my kiddos. However, I was just asked to make a baby shower cake for a very dear friend. I am so excited to have a reason to cake!!! I have a design in mind and it must involve SMBC. Here's the dilema. I made SMBC 1x. It was heavenly and I was hooked. Problem: It took nearly 2 hours to make!!! I used Sweetalopita's recipe, heated my egg whites and sugar to 160 degrees F, and then put them in my KA to beat. I have a 4.5 quart KA and after several minutes of beating my motor started to get hot, which, in turn, was keeping my egg mixture warm. It took at least an hour of starting and stopping the mixing to get the bowl to be "neutral to the touch". Has anyone else ever had this problem? My bigger questions is: Can I let my egg/sugar mixture cool a bit before beating or will this mess up the chemistry going on? I love SMBC. I have to be able to make it on a regular basis but I can't spend 2 hours on every batch.

Any ideas or insights would be greatly appreciated!

24 replies
MBalaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBalaska Posted 14 Jan 2014 , 3:54am
post #2 of 25

Answer:  ♦ 1st you need a new mixer, ♦

and get the 11 wire whip it's incredible fast with meringues.