Cake Quoting (I Know, I Know!)

Business By Kathryns1981 Updated 13 Jan 2014 , 12:08pm by Kathryns1981

Kathryns1981 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kathryns1981 Posted 13 Jan 2014 , 1:20am
post #1 of 4

Hi all,

I know this is an ongoing saga with cake quotes BUT I live in Australia and all the info seems to be USA based. 

We mainly use ganache and fondant for our cakes here and as I am just starting out commercially I am finding it hard to gauge what to charge.

I normally quote for my hours, cake ingredients/decoration etc but I still seem to be either too cheap or too expensive compared to others. Where am I going wrong?

Help!

3 replies
pixiefuncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pixiefuncakes Posted 13 Jan 2014 , 5:26am
post #2 of 4

Hi Kathryn, I'm also in Australia but strictly a hobby baker.  I think pricing is one of the most difficult things to work out.  I think you are on the right track with  working out your costs etc. 

The only other thing I could suggest is that you do some research on the net. 

Check prices on websites, go to bakeries etc.  Try and find someone who's work is on par with what you do and look at their pricing. 

You also need to consider your market, ie. kids novelty, wedding etc.  Where you live can also impact on your market.

HTH.

Crazy-Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy-Gray Posted 13 Jan 2014 , 11:40am
post #3 of 4

ACompare your different prices with quality; if you are on par skill-wise with the higher priced comparisons you've gotten you may well be worth more per hour than you are currently basing your own prices on.