3D Cake - Moulding Icing?

Decorating By Kattcasablanca Updated 27 Jan 2014 , 12:39am by MommyMommy

Kattcasablanca Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kattcasablanca Posted 10 Jan 2014 , 6:50pm
post #1 of 6

Hi all

Apologies if this is a very simple question/answer, however I'm relatively new to cake making and have never made such a cake before. Below is a picture of the cake my sister wants me to make her (sitting down, not standing) - but with this exact expression.

I've happily made character cakes before, however they're usually flat with the base icing and detail (such as mouth and eyes) simply stuck on top. This one I'm a little unsure on how to do.. I intend on moulding the cake to the desired shape but I'm unsure of how to mould the icing to give it dimension - such as the eye being slightly sunken into the head and the cheeks and corners of the mouth being raised. The only way I could think of doing this was to mould the cake, cover in the green base icing, add the mouth and eye detail, then build up layers of green around the mouth and eyes and blend this icing back into the base green (presumably with water?). I'm not sure if this is even possible and I don't know if there's another way to do this and I'm completely missing it?

Apologies again if this is a rather simple technique, but I don't make cakes on a professional level (just for friends and family!) so am rather limited in what I know. 

Thanks kindly!

5 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 10 Jan 2014 , 7:37pm
post #2 of 6
you could do it your way with modeling chocolate--because the heat of your hand can remove any seams--

but for fondant what about re-arranging your plan--

place eye and mouth fondant portions first--then cover with the green--cut the green off to reveal the eye, etc. and mold the green mouth with the extra fondant you already placed underneath there --add the cornea after that--

you got this