Stabilized Whipped Cream/bettercreme Recipe For Vegetarians?

Decorating By nadsquad Updated 7 Jan 2014 , 7:19pm by cakealicious7

nadsquad Posted 7 Jan 2014 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 6



I am looking for a fab way to make my own Stabilized Whipped Cream -or- my own Bettercreme (what everyone seems to be calling it) WITHOUT gelatin (ie vegetarian friendly).


I have read that agar agar can be used in place of gelatin- has anyone tried this for Stabilized Whipped Cream (wondering before I order the agar agar)  ... Is there anything else anyone has tried and would recommend?


I am also curious if agar agar works well for other recipes requiring gelatin such as Mousse or to glaze a fruit tart ...


Thanks so much!

5 replies
cakealicious7 Posted 7 Jan 2014 , 3:45pm
post #2 of 6

AHi, I've never tried agar agar so I can't advise you on how it would turn out but you can get vegetarian gelantine. Just thought you'd like to know if you already didn't :-)

deannescakes Posted 7 Jan 2014 , 4:33pm
post #3 of 6

I have tried replacing gelatin with agar agar in other recipes for my vegetarian friends and it works just as well as gelatin. I've never tried to make whipped cream frosting with it, but I would give it a shot!

nadsquad Posted 7 Jan 2014 , 6:51pm
post #4 of 6



I was not aware of the vegitarian gelatin- where do you get it,and does it work just as well?


Also, for the agar agar, do you use the flakes, powder, or bar? I see that it can be ordered in many forms ....


Lastly, does anyone have a Bettercreme recipe (in general) that they have tried making instead of buying that they would recommend?


Thanks a bunch!!!

Godot Posted 7 Jan 2014 , 7:04pm
post #5 of 6

AVegetarian gelatine doesn't exist as gelatine is an animal product. There are several vegetarian substitutes for gelatine, but they do have different properties than gelatine and require different applications and formulae.

cakealicious7 Posted 7 Jan 2014 , 7:19pm
post #6 of 6

AI'm so sorry!! I meant to say vegetarian gel, it's an alternative to gelantine and is made of agar. I purchased it from my local supermarket and does tell you on the box how it should be used (the one I purchased is in flake form)

Quote by @%username% on %date%