Trouble With White Chocolate Ganache

Baking By candmarie Updated 17 Jan 2014 , 3:56pm by MissJoyous

candmarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
candmarie Posted 17 Dec 2013 , 4:12pm
post #1 of 21

Hello, this is my first time posting on this site so bare with me! Lol! Ok, so I need a no fail recipe for white chocolate ganache STAT! I've tried two so far. This is for a wedding cake, which has two cake dummies at the the bottom and a 6 inch real cake at the top (see photo). They wanted dummies because the cake is just for decoration and they wanted to use it for the wedding and reception, so I made a cake for the top that they served the wedding party at the wedding and now I need to make another one for the top for the reception (the reception was planned in a different location, a week after the ceremony). Anyways, I tried two recipes for the white chocolate ganache. One, I found on here that called for 1.3 cups of white chocolate chip and 1 cup of heavy cream, and the other one from Martha Stewart. The Martha Stewart one called for 8 oz. of good quality white chocolate and 3/4 of a cup of heavy cream. The problem? Neither one set up! I waited, I refrigerated and nothing! Luckily, I was able to whip the Martha Stewart ganache and still use it, but it was very light and made my fondant crack. I made it work, but this time I want a recipe that comes out like regular chocolate ganache, you know, fudgy! Please help! Where did I go wrong? And can someone give me a chocolate to cream ratio that will set up like the regular            chocolate ganache? Any input is much appreciated, thank you! :(

20 replies
FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 17 Dec 2013 , 4:35pm
post #2 of 21

I'll share what works for me, but let me warn you, it's not fancy or high-end.

12oz. bag of Nestle white chocolate morsels (which measures out to 2 cups of chips) + 1/2 cup of cream...

It sets up to a peanut butter consistency.