Tier Wedding Cake - Assembly And Transportation

Decorating By DeniseBr Updated 14 Dec 2013 , 6:24am by kakeladi

DeniseBr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeniseBr Posted 14 Dec 2013 , 5:49am
post #1 of 2

I am doing my first 3 tier (14, 10, 6 inch - round) wedding cake for my niece.  I have been making cakes for several years but nothing as critical as a wedding.  So I need some advice.

Please keep in mind this is not a business for me and will most likely be a one time event.  So looking for best options on a skinny budget as any investment for multi-use would be wasted.

Support -

I've used wooden dowel rods in the past but saw posts on SPS and Bubble tea fat straws.  I hate cutting wooden rods and thinking the bubble tea fat straws are a good option.  Advice?

What separator base/board should I use?

Transporting - I have about 30 mile drive.  I could assemble at a friends house closer but would be less comfortable than doing at my own home.

Do I travel with the cake fully assembled? 

Storage - We are doing a white champagne cake with a BC/cream cheese icing and raspberry filling.  Do I need to keep it refrigerated?  How long can I safely have it out?

I'm searching boards for links on any and all of the above just to make sure I do this right!!!  Can you tell I'm a little anxious?!   So if you have any references handy you can share to make this a beautiful cake for my niece, I would sure appreciate it!!!

OMG....what have I gotten myself into?!  ;-)

Here is a picture of the cake she wants me to make...

http://media-cache-ec0.pinimg.com/originals/bb/3d/6b/bb3d6b95201beb48ab79bc80bbedbef0.jpg

1 reply
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 14 Dec 2013 , 6:24am
post #2 of 2

..... hate cutting wooden rods and thinking the bubble tea fat straws are a good option.  Advice?..........

They are an excellent choice:)  You will only need 7 in the largest tier and3 or 4 in the center one.