Icing Smoother Vs Bench Scraper

Decorating By Alclimer Updated 20 Aug 2014 , 6:52pm by shanter

Alclimer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Alclimer Posted 1 Dec 2013 , 7:30pm
post #1 of 6

I've done a lot a research today on how to get my bc smooth. So far it looks like a scraper with crusting bc is the best bet. I've never used one before and I've come across soooo many different types. Most use a 6" metal one with the rounded handle which looks great but what if I wanted to ice a tall barrel cake. I came across the Wilton icing smoother and I wondered if anyone liked it.  It doesn't have as wide of a base/edge to set on the cake board as a bench scraper and I was wondering if that rubber handle in the middle gets in the way. Has anyone used both and if so which do you like better?  Thanks!!!

5 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 1 Dec 2013 , 7:42pm
post #2 of 6

i my bench scraper that is over 40 years old--sentimental favorite

plus if you do a big tall cake enlist the nearest plastic ruler--no worries--

(second time i've recommended that today ;)

not to mention--when using smbc -- you can chill the iced cake and make it perfect with the heat of your fingers--

Walkinmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Walkinmomma Posted 20 Aug 2014 , 10:46am
post #3 of 6

The metal bench scraper is the way to go!  You can find taller ones if you search the internet.  The Wilton scraper is a great idea but the wrong size.  The Plastic tab in the middle gets in the way so you are not able to scrape the excess icing off into the bowl-you have to use  your  fingers  or a spatula to remove.  I have sent an email to Wilton suggesting a redesign!  When I am doing a taller cake I use the bench scraper then remove the excess above with the Wilton-extra work but gets the job done...

cupadeecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupadeecakes Posted 20 Aug 2014 , 1:11pm
post #4 of 6