Box Or Scratch?

Baking By sugarlipsbaker Updated 6 Dec 2013 , 1:25am by jason_kraft

sugarlipsbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarlipsbaker Posted 26 Nov 2013 , 12:49am
post #1 of 61

I pride myself in making all of my cakes and frosting fresh and from scratch. Occasionally depending on time i have to doctor a cake mix. I know a few other home based cake decorators in the my area and they all use doctored box mixes. My question is how many of you use a box mix and what are your feelings about? When I make a wedding cake i feel the need to make it 100% from scratch  because they are paying big money for it, but when doing a $45 birthday cake it doesnt make sense for me to spend the time to make it from scratch.

60 replies
texas_mom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
texas_mom Posted 26 Nov 2013 , 1:36am
post #2 of 61

I have been making cakes for a little over 30 years and they have always been boxed.  I save the cake from scratch for my family like my mom and dad's birthday or my husband or kids.  Everyone I make a cake for knows that box is what they are getting and they are fine with that.  But I wouldn't know if I would make a wedding cake from scratch because of the money, since I do this as a hobby so everything I make is for the fun of it.

Daisyblue002 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Daisyblue002 Posted 26 Nov 2013 , 4:16am
post #3 of 61

I used to make pretty much all my cakes and frosting from a box but since I've learnt to decorate cakes I'm also interested in baking from scratch and making ganache. It doesn't take long at all to assemble the ingredients and now I prefer (as well as my family and friends) scratch cakes. If I paid over $50 for a cake and found out it was from a box I'd be a little disappointed. 

Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 26 Nov 2013 , 4:33am
post #4 of 61