Painting Chocolate Anyone??? And Others :d

Decorating By ilovetolearn Updated 13 Nov 2013 , 1:14am by ilovetolearn

ilovetolearn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ilovetolearn Posted 12 Nov 2013 , 2:26am
post #1 of 6

I think I posted my question in the wrong forum....

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone had an idea on how to paint chocolate with no alcohol? I don't have luster dust, (or anything like that honestly) but I do have things like gel food coloring, regular (water based) food coloring..... yes, I'm new to this, but I really wanted to know if there was any possible way. Also. Can royal icing stick to chocolate? Does anyone have a royal icing recipe without cream of tartar?? Does anyone have ideas on how I can decorate the chocolate? (I'm trying to make a chocolate shoe, I was given a mold, now I'm trying to figure it out)  I'm sorry.... I do have a ton of questions. TIA! :grin:

5 replies
810whitechoc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
810whitechoc Posted 12 Nov 2013 , 11:16am
post #2 of 6

You can paint chocolate with coloured cocoa butter or you can colour chocolate and pipe designs on your shoe.  You can't use water based colours like gel colours, you need to use oil based colours they come in either liquid or powder form.  I personally prefer the liquid, as the colours are more vibrant.  You melt the cocoa butter or chocolate, add the oil based candy colour and  you are ready to go.  You will need to practice a little on some spare chocolate with either of these methods before decorating your shoe.

rjcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rjcakes Posted 12 Nov 2013 , 4:11pm
post #3 of 6