Wedding Cake Pricing

Business By MyDreamCake Updated 11 Nov 2013 , 4:34pm by MimiFix

MyDreamCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MyDreamCake Posted 10 Nov 2013 , 7:45pm
post #1 of 16

Hi! I'm new in CakeCentral and I am amazed at how everyone are helpful. I learned a lot things just reading forums after forums after forums. I would like to ask fellow baker's opinion about this wedding cake. 

The bride showed us two designs that she liked, then we tried our best to incorporate both designs in this sketch. She wants a bouquet of fondant roses (large and small ones) with small calla lilies for the topper. and more flower fondants in each layer (shower on the picture). There will be fondant ribbon around each cakes and also hand placed pearls. We have a water fountain and they want to use it (not really sure if I should charge them, if so how much?) The cake will be Tres Leches with vanilla cream and peaches. Oh the cake will be fondant covered. They gave us an estimation of 100 to 150 guests. 

When we should them this sketch with the price (without delivery fee), they told us that it is too expensive for both options. I forgot to mentioned that these couple are my parent's coworker ( I guess they expected a discount). From that day till now, I keep asking myself "should I have lower the price?" "I thought the price was reasonable." 

Cake A                     

6"x4"

8"x4"

10"x4"

14"x4"

Cake B

8"x4"

10"x4"

14"x4"

16"x4"

I would appreciate any comments. Thanks

15 replies
FromScratchSF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratchSF Posted 10 Nov 2013 , 9:02pm
post #2 of 16

NO.

Your price is your price.  There is nothing wrong with them not wanting to pay it.  Somebody will - and man, with how inexpensive you are I imagine brides will be coming from all over the place to have you do their cake because you are WAY cheap and you give away a ton of cake!