What Do You Think Of My Halloween Cake?

Decorating By louglou Updated 1 Nov 2013 , 11:38pm by farmgirl2012

louglou Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
louglou Posted 30 Oct 2013 , 9:36pm
post #1 of 17

I'm entering a work cake competition and have created this. I'm quite pleased with it, but it seems a bit sparse to me. What else can I do with it to make it a bit more special?

16 replies
MBalaska Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MBalaska Posted 30 Oct 2013 , 9:40pm
post #2 of 17

louglou:   what is a work cake competition?

louglou Posted 30 Oct 2013 , 9:44pm
post #3 of 17

Just a competition at work for hobby cake bakers. I work in IT for a chemical manufacturer. Everyone pays £2 to taste as many different cakes as they want and the winner gives the money to a charity of their choice.

punkin90 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
punkin90 Posted 30 Oct 2013 , 9:49pm
post #4 of 17

That is really great to give the money to charity! I love color. I know this is a Halloween cake but how about adding more color somehow? Even if it is white bones or more gray color?

scorpio1966 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scorpio1966 Posted 30 Oct 2013 , 9:49pm
post #5 of 17

How about some wilted flowers or a mean face pumpkin!

louglou Posted 30 Oct 2013 , 9:52pm
post #6 of 17

It is a nice idea though I am probably taking the whole competition thing a bit too seriously.:oops:

I agree it needs some more colour. Maybe some bloody bones. And something on the side of the coffin.

Capela Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Capela Posted 30 Oct 2013 , 10:40pm
post #7 of 17

ALooks good! I did the same today at work! This is only my second cake, I have a lot to learn but hopefully I'm getting there. My pumpkins really popped with colour, perhaps you could add some? This image is from my phone so sorry if it's not very clear! Happy halloween everyone!

VANILLAPLAZA Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VANILLAPLAZA Posted 31 Oct 2013 , 12:32am
post #8 of 17

Quote: