Need Help With Icing Sheets

Decorating By dragonlady1964 Updated 1 Nov 2013 , 11:40pm by dragonlady1964

dragonlady1964 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dragonlady1964 Posted 28 Oct 2013 , 3:40pm
post #1 of 11

Hi I am new to CC and I need some info on Icing sheets. I am doing a wedding cake and I have butter cream icing on the cake and I am going to be using the icing sheets. This is only the second time I have used them. How far in advance can you put them on the cake without the colors bleeding? And once you put them on the cake can you put the cake back in the refrigerator? I would appreciate any help anyone can give me. Thanks in advance.

Susie 

10 replies
dragonlady1964 Posted 28 Oct 2013 , 5:22pm
post #2 of 11

bumping up

melanie-1221 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melanie-1221 Posted 28 Oct 2013 , 5:55pm
post #3 of 11

I have placed icing sheets on my cake 24 hrs in advance and had no trouble with them bleeding.

I have also used an icing sheet printed as pages on top of an open book cake and refrigerated that overnight with no issues either.

kkmcmahan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kkmcmahan Posted 28 Oct 2013 , 7:26pm
post #4 of 11

I think it depends on what you are printing and how long in advance it is.  I recently created an open faced book where I had a printed page (small print) that I had attached on a Friday afternoon.  There was a faint blue hue to the background of the print on the icing sheet because of the paper I had copied the print from.  By Saturday the blue was more prominent.  So although the wording had not bleed, the coloring did change significantly.  It didn't spoil the effect but next time I will print it off closer to when it is needed.