Making Established Business Shape Up - Long

Business By PrivateNameHere Updated 28 Oct 2013 , 2:43am by BrandisBaked

PrivateNameHere Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PrivateNameHere Posted 27 Oct 2013 , 11:13am
post #1 of 12

I just got a new job at a bakery.  This is my first bakery job, but I've been decorating cakes for 5 years.  When I was hired, the previous manager had just been fired.  The owner (small business, 6 employees and the owner) told me she wanted me to be the face of her company, to eventually do wedding consults, and to help with details as she is not detail oriented.  Great!  I was really excited!

I show up and the first day the owner isn't there for the first part of the morning.  All I hear is the employees getting together and laughing about the owner, saying she is scatterbrained and stupid, that she has no idea how to run a business.  All right in front of me, very loud.  There are two decorators, two retail sales/order taker employees up front, and a manager who doesn't do cake decorating.  So they spend a bit of time hanging out in the kitchen, whining about everything (why can't we have sweatshirts like XYZ cake company?  Ugh, Owner wants to schedule more cake consults but we are too busy that weekend, so I'm going to turn them down, don't let Owner know).  Also they are not friendly (not saying hello when customers walk in, they talk badly about customers, like really nasty.  Snooty.)