Should I See My Sheeter/cake Stuff Or Forge On?

Business By golfergal Updated 17 Oct 2013 , 1:46pm by MimiFix

golfergal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
golfergal Posted 17 Oct 2013 , 1:47am
post #1 of 9

My back story:  I am a retired cooking/home ec teacher (beginning of my 2nd year of retirement)  I also have a side cake decorating bis...mostly fun, specialized cakes for friends and family and word of mouth cakes for others.  It has been hot and cold as far as orders go, and since I am very busy with other activities, I'm not devoting much time to marketing nor do I have the space or means to go "big time"...However, my husband, as sweet as he is, thought I'd love a sheeter for my cake biz and took it upon himself to purchase this for me when I retired. It's a 20" Somerset and fab.  However, it's not being used like it could or should. It, in fact, sits on my kitchen table with a table cloth covering it as it's too big and heavy to move around.  I never asked for the sheeter and it was a gift, but I am getting the "what do you want to do with the sheeter" question from my husband as he would LOVE for me to bring some $$ into the household via my cakes or even in teaching some cake decor classes..

The sheeter is fantastic and I love it! However, I do feel guilty when I see it going unused as I decide how to grow my little buisness.

I have a lady who is interested in lease to buy.  She contacted me and wants to come and take a look at it...Initially, I thought it was a good idea, but everytime I think of letting it go, I get sellers remorse and almost start crying...but, we could use the $$...I have hot and cold feelings about selling my cake supplies.  I have a ton, including a Silhuette machine, edible printer, fondant, all the gadgets, etc...and I'm very worried that I'll regret it once I let it go, but OTOH, the equipment isn't doing me any good unused....and i am in a real funk about it.

8 replies
DeliciousDesserts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile