Recipe Quantity Conversion?

Baking By AusSas Updated 8 Oct 2013 , 11:05pm by sewsugarqueen

AusSas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AusSas Posted 6 Oct 2013 , 5:28am
post #1 of 9

Hi, does anyone have a link to a calculator where I can plug in an original recipe and change the size pan to get quantities to make a different size cake?  I've seen one in the past where you can enter in the original recipe and say it was for a 9" cake, and you can change it to a 7" cake and it will alter the amount of ingredients appropriately.

Thanks. :-)

8 replies
sarahgale314 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sarahgale314 Posted 7 Oct 2013 , 2:15am
post #2 of 9

AI made my own... I have a degree in math and taught high school math for 4 years before I quit to have kids and then started baking. Anyway, I worked out for myself a while ago multipliers to multiply recipes by, using ratios of the pan volumes. Here are the multipliers for all pan sizes, with a 2-layer 9-inch cake baked in 2-inch pans (what the majority of recipes are written for) as multiplier "1."

So, if you have a recipe for a cake baked in 2 nine inch pans that are two inches high, multiply the recipe by the numbers shown below to convert it to 2 two inch high land in the specified diameter.

To bake a cake in 2 pans this size: Multiply all ingredients by: 4 inch. 0.2 5 inch. 0.3 6 inch. 0.44 7 inch 0.6 8 inch. 0.8 9 inch. 1 10 inch. 1.2 11 inch. 1.5 12 inch. 1.8 13 inch. 2 14 inch. 2.5