Newbie Here With Some Questions :)

Decorating By JoAnna531 Updated 30 Sep 2013 , 8:22pm by PeasNTatersMom

JoAnna531 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnna531 Posted 30 Sep 2013 , 12:07pm
post #1 of 13

I have never worked with fondant before. My son's 2nd birthday is coming up, and I am planning to make his cake (same as I do every year for my kids lol) But this year I decided to be brave and give marshmallow fondant a go. I am wanting to make a cake topper out of the fondant and was wondering how far in advance I can make it. His birthday is on the 19th. Also how do I let it harden, or will it even harden? 

I plan to also try to cover the cake with the fondant, but I am confused about if I should pop the cake into the fridge after doing the crumb coat or if I should let it sit out and dry. 

I have made butter cream frosting a few times and am wondering if there is a good recipe to use with the fondant, or if I can just use the regular one.

Also any other advice would be loved :)

12 replies
rebecca67e Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rebecca67e Posted 30 Sep 2013 , 12:44pm
post #2 of 13

I'm not a pro but I'll give it a go (someone else can correct if wrong)....

- gum paste is better for making models/toppers as marshmallow fondant tends to be too soft and won't dry hard. you can add CMC powder or tylose to the fondant to make your own gum paste and it will dry harder. Just make it a day or a few days in advance and it will harden on its own.

- yes pop the cake in the fridge after crumb coat. it's easier to cover a cake that has been firmed up. some prefer to cover it frozen, even.

- you can use your regular buttercream

rebecca67e Posted 30 Sep 2013 , 12:44pm
post #3 of 13

my only advice is to watch lots of youtube tutorials on modelling with fondant :-)

PeasNTatersMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PeasNTatersMom Posted 30 Sep 2013 , 1:09pm
post #4 of 13