Holes In Cake?

Decorating By MustangMollie Updated 29 Sep 2013 , 2:01am by MustangMollie

MustangMollie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MustangMollie Posted 28 Sep 2013 , 9:38am
post #1 of 15

AHi guys,

So I guess it's not truly a disaster, but I'm wondering what could have caused holes in my cake. The outsides look fine, but it just leveled them and there are holes in the middle. I baked a two layers, each had their own tin (my 8" tins are shallow), but I made up the batter at the same time.

It was my first time making a Madeira cake, but I used a mix from the local cake decorating shop. I followed their instructions exactly, except the mix was for a 9" round so I did an 8" round and a few cupcakes. It also doesn't say how long to bake it, so I kept it in the oven until a toothpick came out clean.

Is Madeira supposed to be really dense? I've never tried it before. How does the taste compare to regular vanilla?

Any ideas about what I did wrong or hints about making Madeira would be super appreciated. Thanks :)

14 replies
bubs1stbirthday Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bubs1stbirthday Posted 28 Sep 2013 , 9:50am
post #3 of 15

Too much rising agent perhaps? Try tapping your cake on the bench gently before baking - it will help to dispel any unwanted air pockets and also helps the cake to cook with a flatter top.

Bec005 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bec005 Posted 28 Sep 2013 , 11:39am
post #4 of 15

Did you mix on a high speed? I don't use a mix often but when I do I find I need to mix for a minute on the lowest speed on my kitchenaid  to knock the large air bubbles out

CakeChemistry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeChemistry Posted 28 Sep 2013 , 12:30pm
post #5 of 15

AI find with my kitchenaid it can be over mixing, which I think is both to do with too much air and over stretching the gluteus in the flour which causes holey bits x x

CakeChemistry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeChemistry Posted 28 Sep 2013 , 12:31pm