Getting Licensed

Business By MeSasa1978 Updated 24 Sep 2013 , 12:22am by howsweet

MeSasa1978 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MeSasa1978 Posted 23 Sep 2013 , 10:52pm
post #1 of 5

Hi! I'm really trying to go about this the right way and get licensed. I live in Akron, Ohio, and I am currently planning to work out of my home.

I've been giving my stuff away (or close enough -- everyone knows I'm still learning my craft), and if I'm going to start charging for my work, I need a licensed kitchen and all that goes with it.

I've never been in the position to own a business, so I'm hoping you guys may have some suggestions.

My kitchen is a small, typical kitchen. I don't have the 3 compartment sink, but I do sanitize my equipment. I wear foodservice gloves and a bandanna (the closest you'll ever get me to a hairnet) over my very short hair. I have 2 dogs, but they're outside and the kitchen is meticulously broomed before I work on anything.

I've contacted my health department, and they gave me the runaround to a dead end, so I'm starting over with them. I'm really anxious to get this party started.

So my question is what am I missing? Do I need to apply for an EIN as self-employed, or is that unnecessary? I don't anticipate making a ton of money since I'll probably never do more than a cake a week (unless something amazing happens and I get enough work coming in to quit my day job -- not for a LONG time, if ever!). I just want to make sure I dot all my i's and cross all my t's.

Thanks, all!

4 replies
howsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
howsweet Posted 23 Sep 2013 , 11:29pm
post #2 of 5

Don't know how correct his is and there must be other resources http://cottagefoods.org/laws/usa/ohio/ Doesn't really sound that difficult unless you're selling cream pies or something that nerds refrigeration

howsweet Posted 23 Sep 2013 , 11:31pm
post #3 of 5