Cupcakes Not Rising Correctly And Are Wrinkling And Shrinking After 1 Min Of Cooling!!

Baking By Anna1211 Updated 12 Sep 2013 , 8:55pm by NJsugarmama

Anna1211 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Anna1211 Posted 12 Sep 2013 , 6:55am
post #1 of 9

Hi guys

I'm a beginner at baking and have been baking at home the past 6 months. I notice some cupcake recipe require baking soda and some only require baking powder and some require both. Can you guys give me a break down on how to be familiar with how much to use for each ingredient for a cupcake recipe and when do i expect to use either ingredient? Also, i been baking some chocolate cupcakes that only require baking soda. They tend to rise very high when it first comes out of the oven, then completely shrinks and turn wrinkle after cooling for 1 min. How can i make a perfect chocolate cupcake like the ones at the baker. Please advise, and if you have a good chocolate cupcake recipe, please send it my way!!

8 replies
NJsugarmama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NJsugarmama Posted 12 Sep 2013 , 7:54am
post #2 of 9

AIf you want to get into the nitty-gritty of baking, I suggest reading more about the science and understanding that goes on when you use either of those. For me, if you can get past the snobbish personality, the Cake Bible is a great place to start. She goes into detail about every ingredient and gives some troubleshooting advice.

As for your recipe, I'm not sure what your problem is since I don't know your actual recipe. If you have a chance, post it.

I'm sure you can find a chocolate cupcake that people rave about using the search feature.

I know this wasn't direct help, but I hope I was able to point you in the right direction.

Best wishes.

Anna1211 Posted 12 Sep 2013 , 7:57am
post #3 of 9

Thank you so much! i will start with that booK! Will order it now! Appreciate your time!

NJsugarmama Posted 12 Sep 2013 , 8:06am
post #4 of 9