Why??

Decorating By Xiony Updated 7 Sep 2013 , 3:13am by morganchampagne

kikiandkyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kikiandkyle Posted 6 Sep 2013 , 5:10pm
post #31 of 42

AI did a cake that was a close copy of one that a big bakery was selling a tutorial on, I didn't really post the photos much because I didn't actually buy the tutorial, I just used their photos as inspiration and made a few changes. I felt bad about not buying the tutorial but still using the idea! Seems silly, I'm sure they don't care.

theresaf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theresaf Posted 6 Sep 2013 , 5:13pm
post #32 of 42

I am a hobby baker so let me start off with that.  I know some people have made cakes based on some photos I've posted. Some are very similar and some are not, Cool.  I taught myself (with the help of all of you and other video sources) so it's flattering.  I've also copied a cake or idea and credited the source when I posted it or sent a PM.  

Wouldn't it be great if we all got credit for what we do!  Some days I'd just like to get credit for finally picking up the dry cleaning from the store next to me!  

Please don't take it personally OP, look forward to your next idea!

Theresa

MaurorLess67 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaurorLess67 Posted 6 Sep 2013 , 6:57pm
post #33 of 42

AI would try to be flattered- it would have been nice if a notation was made "inspired by- copied/recreated etc". I have on many occasions made those notations-- I always try to contact the original designer and ask permission- or send my cake photo-- Im only a hobby baker so I don't sell my work-

I have read many posts by cake designers on this forum and facebook who get VERY upset when their original work is not referenced- and sometimes even when it is referenced!!

Im always so thankful for cake artists who share their creations and techniques/tutorials!!