Can't Get A Smooth Finish To My Fondant, Help!

Decorating By elinagnes Updated 3 Sep 2013 , 7:23pm by shake n cake

elinagnes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elinagnes Posted 3 Sep 2013 , 10:00am
post #1 of 4

Hi everyone,

I am having troubles with my fondant skills.. :S

A few weeks ago I agreed to make my mother in laws wedding cake! I am very new at making beautiful cakes, but have made a few fondant cakes in the past and they turned out ok.

The wedding cake is going to be two tiers, covered in white fondant with some small lace details on.

I am in the process of practicing to make the wedding cake and have iced and covered the two tiers in fondant.. The finish is not at all as smooth as I would like it though :(

I am using store bought fondant (Satin Ice) which is very good, but somehow the cakes are looking very bumpy :(

I am using chocolate ganache under the fondant, could that have anything to do with the result?

I am trying to smooth it with my hands and a smoothing tool, but as I am doing that air bubbles seem to appear under the fondant.. Why does this happen? I was very careful to get rid of any air whilst putting the fondant on before smoothing, so im not too sure why they keep popping up now :S

I feel a bit overwhelmed at the moment and starting to think it was a bad idea to agree to make something as important as a wedding cake.. :S

Help please!! 

Thank you so much everyone,

Elin

3 replies
RachelGearon Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RachelGearon Posted 3 Sep 2013 , 10:12am
post #2 of 4

ADid you have your ganache completely smooth before you covered it in fondant? If your ganache isn't smooth the fondant will show up every little bump. Hope that helps!

Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 3 Sep 2013 , 11:29am
post #3 of 4

Ahttp://inspiredbymichelleblog.com/2011/03/30/how-to-make-chocolate-ganache-for-decorating-cakes-3/